Home page of the
(founded in August 1893)
"who teaches learns"
Last updated: 20th November 2017

News Archive Club Information Club Calendar DCC Champions KZN Champions Odds & Ends Download Page KZN News Blog

The club's annual general meeting will be held on 23rd November. All members are invited to attend a braai after the meeting. Please can all prizewinners attend the AGM.

The last round of the Third Swiss took place on 16th November. Keith Rust finished in 1st place with Jason Moss in 2nd place, after gaining crucial wins in the last round. Here are the final results in html and in pdf.

The club's annual Mhlongo memorial held on 21st September was won by Desmond Rooplal, ahead of Cyril Danisa. Here are the results.

The John Blackburn memorial started on 27th July and had 7 rounds, using the standard FIDE 90 minutes plus 30 seconds increment per move. After 6 rounds the lead was shared by Ahdir Puran and Cyril Danisa, who had already met. In a dramatic last round, they both had the Black pieces. When Puran blundered a Bishop against Mgaga and Oliver beat Khan, we had the possibility of a five-way tie for first, if only Rooplal could beat Danisa. Their game was the last to finish, and Cyril was in a lot of trouble in the diagrammed position:

Play continued 1...Bxh2+ 2.Kh1 (2.Kxh2? Qe5+ 3.Ng3 Bxf1 etc) Qe5 3.Rxd8+ Rxd8 4.Qxc4 Qh5 and now Desmond went astray with 5.g4? instead of 5.Ng5! when White is clearly better. After 5...Qh4 Black was guaranteed at least a perpetual check, Desmond escaped the perpetual but lost the game, so Cyril won first place on his own! Here are the final results.

Desmond Rooplal and Solly Kharwa disappeared in April to play in the FIDE Amateur World Championships, held this year in Spoleto, Italy. Now Desmond has provided me with a photo report of their adventures in Italy.

The club's rapid championship commenced on 15th June and finished on 6th July. Each week saw 2 games versus the same opponent, one with Black and one with White. Clocks were set for 30 minutes plus 10 seconds increment per move and notation was optional. In a strange twist, there was a four-way tie on 6 points out of 8 between Keith Rust, Rahul Beekrum, Ahdir Puran and Chad Millard. Here are the final results.

The South African Open Championship returns to Durban on 14th July 2017, after a break of 21 years! I have been invited to act as an arbiter at the event, which is being organised by the KZN Chess Association. For more details, here is a link to the SA Open 2017website. I wrote an article about the history of the SA Open for the occasion, which now includes links to the games from my downloads page.

Desmond Rooplal gave a blindfold simultaneous exhibition on 8th June. This was an unusual event, so I have done a more detailed report.

The club started its annual championships on March 16th and the last games were finished on 1st June. Congratulations to Desmond Rooplal on becoming our club champion for the first time!

Here are the final results for section A, section B and section C.

This year's KZN Open Championship was held from 27th to 30th April 2017, at Northlands Senior Primary School. Durban Chess Club organised this event for 50 years from 1967 through to 2016, and you can find a full list of Kwa-Zulu Natal Champions on this website. This year the Championship was organised for the first time by the KZN Chess Association. The overall winner was our 2016 club champion, Joseph Mwale. The A section was FIDE rated, and there was also a B section, for players rated below 1500.

The club held a blitz tournament on Fischer's birthday, March 9th, which was won by Chad Millard with a full score. Here are the blitz results. GM Sipke Ernst made an unexpected visit to the club, and found time for a quick game against Chad:

Chad Millard vs GM Sipke Ernst

The annual Moss Kolnik memorial started on 12th January. Round 1 saw a major upset on board 3 when Cyril Danisa lost to Solly Kharwa and became the newest member of the "Kharwa Club" - players who have lost to our oldest member! Round 2 saw another former club champion upset, this time it was Bongani Mgaga who lost to Chad Millard. Chad defeated another higher rated player in round 3, but was not so lucky in round 4. The upsets continued in round 5, when Ahdir Puran defeated Keith Rust for the first time (in 5 attempts) with an interesting Bishop sacrifice. Round 6 saw Puran continue his winning ways, this time against Desmond Rooplal. Remarkably, every game in round 6 was won by Black!! In round 7 Danisa defeated Puran to take a clear lead and Chad caused another upset, this time against Henry Oliver. Finally, after the 8th round, we had our podium: 1st Danisa, 2nd Millard, 3rd Rust. Here are the final results.

Recent updates: Third Swiss results, Mhlongo blitz results, Blackurn memorial results, World Amateur in Italy, June rapid results, SA open history, blindfold simul, Club Championships results, KZN Open championships, March blitz results, Moss Kolnik results, calendar for 2017, stories for 2016 archived.
For previous news stories refer to my News Archive page, which contains links to previous news stories going back to 2004.

Keith Rust.

free counters