DURBAN CHESS CLUB



Date : 15 February 2024

Starting Time : 19h15

Venue: St Cyprian's Church Hall, Umbilo Road, Durban

Chairperson : Mr Keith Rust

Attendance : Attached Addendum (26 Present) (One apology)

Agenda : Election of Durban Chess Club committee

Keith welcomed the members. He spoke about the purpose of the meeting that was to elect a committee. He also mentioned about the club constitution and members required for the committee. Members of the committee can also hold more than one position. Thereafter he introduced Dr. Hemant Nowbath being the senior at the club to conduct the elections.

Hemant thanked the old members for the revival of the club and the attendance. He mentioned the problems faced by the club with respect to accessing monies from the bank account. He mentioned the rich history of the club , it being the second oldest club in South Africa. He started the elections thereafter.

Jerry Mbusiswa Zuma was nominated by Keith Rust for President . He accepted the nomination. John Khan seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. Jerry Mbusiswa Zuma was declared Durban chess club President for 2024.

John Khan was nominated by Nitesh Seebran for vice-President . He accepted the nomination. Dr Hemant Nowbath seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. John Khan was declared Durban chess club vice-President for 2024.

Ahdir Puran was nominated by Keith Rust for Secretary . He accepted the nomination. Aphelele Luthuli seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. Ahdir Puran was declared Durban chess club Secretary for 2024.

Keith Rust was nominated by Dr Hemant Nowbath for Treasurer . He accepted the nomination. Ahdir Puran seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. Keith Rust was declared Durban chess club Treasurer for 2024.

Keith Rust was nominated by Ahdir Puran for Captain of Play . He accepted the nomination. Buhle Mate seconded the nomination. There were no other nominations. Keith Rust was declared Durban chess club Captain of play for 2024.

Senzo Msimango was nominated by Jerry Mbusiswa Zuma for Committee member . He accepted the nomination. Aresti Paraskevopoulos seconded the nomination.

Sivuyile Mgobhozi was nominated by Cyril Danisa for Committee member . He accepted the nomination. Buhle Mate seconded the nomination.

Aresti Paraskevopoulos was nominated by Dr Hemant Nowbath for Committee member . He accepted the nomination. Ahdir Puran seconded the nomination.

Jason Subke was nominated by Cyril Danisa for Committee member . He accepted the nomination. Joanne Soojay seconded the nomination.

Elections were to be held for the 3 committee member positions but Sivuyile Mgobhozi retracted his nomination and the remaining candidates were declared Durban chess club Committee members for 2024.

Dr Hemant Nowbath congratulated the new committee and discussed the duties of the committee.

- To get access to the club's Bank account.

- Programme for the year.
- Membership fees.

The elections were concluded.

To summarise the Durban Chess Club Committee for 2024

Mbusiswa Zuma	President	
John Khan	Vice- President	
Ahdir Puran	Secretary	
Keith Rust	Treasurer	
Keith Rust	Captain of Play	
Senzo Msimango	Committee member	
Aresti Paraskevopoulos	Committee member	
Jason Subke	Committee member	

<u>General</u>

Keith Rust mentioned the previous fees were R400.

Rajan Soojay proposes the fees should be R500 due to inflation.

Ahdir Puran said that the fees should be decided by the committee as there are factors to consider.

Dr Hemant Nowbath suggested that club fees remain at R400 due to financial difficulties.

Jerry commented on fundraising.

Nitesh Seebran stated that it is difficult to find chess clubs in Durban. He suggested the club invest in advertising through Facebook.

Keith Rust said we need to sort out social media and use this medium to promote the club.

Aresti said he will assist in setting up Facebook.

Jerry said to express ideas on the chat group.

Jerry Mbusiswa Zuma gave vote of thanks and concluded the meeting.

End time 19h43.

2024 Durban Chess Club Revive Swiss Special Meeting - Attendance Register

Location : St Cyprians Church Hall, Umbilo Road, Durban Date : 2024/02/15

No.	Signature	Name	Chess SA ID	Rating	FE
1		Atkinson, Craig	194000876	1281	RS/
2		Bhikisha, Noluthando	200069468	1029	RS
3		Crafford, Brodi	102068279	887	RS
4	Da	Danisa, Cyril	163006020	1686	RS
5	Contraction of the second seco	Govender, Devon	186084745	1338	RS.
6	Gy a	Hadebe, Thubelihle	198092533	1139	RS
7	the state	Harshavardan, Rajesh	1080154472	885	RS
8	1/~	Khan, John	166015362	1270	
9	200	Luthuli, Aphelele	1040162619	1200	-
10		Makhanya, Sphelele	196019825	1451	
11	1	Makhanya, Nhlakanipho	193076610	1253	1
12	By	Mate, Buhle	188021588	1389	
13		Mathew, Nathan	1160149315	533	1
14	Blon L	Mbhele, Thalente	1020162378	1300	
15		Mgaga, Bongani	169022923	1709	
16	15	Mgobhozi, Sivuyile	183022948	1674	
17		Mhlongo, Siphiwo	103022940		RS
18		Mkhize, Mxolisi	1010112245	1424	
19		Mkhwanazi, Thobani	1020136220	1316	-
20	de -	Msani, Siza	1010140306	1154	
20	- Andri	Msimango, Senzo	196092503	1489	
22	A COV				RS
23	1484	Ndabandaba, Melisa Niakazi, Thokozani	0		1
23	fil-		157028274		RS
25		Nowbath, Hemant		1343	
	the	Nxumalo, Qiniso	1010144589	1083	
26	A EC	Paraskevopoulos, Aresti	180029366	1749	
27		Puran, Ahdir	176031240	1665	
28	A A	Puran, Madhav	1120162398	726	
29		Radebe, Comfort	0		RS
30	KM	Richard, Troy	0		RS
31	KACO	Rust, Keith	158032866	1963	1
32	Æ	Seebran, Nitesh	185094663	1059	
33	Ausan	Sewcharan, Vinesh	0		RS
34		Sibeko, Musawenkosi	179034550	1266	
35		Soobramoney, Hezron	1150147876	839	
36	- talt	Soojay, Jorah	108079781	1823	-
37	Total 101	Soojay, Josiah	1150134491	1138	
38	apalle	Subke, Jason	172036708	1744	
39	Bab 24	Tabaziba, Innocent	1910148688	1350	
40	V	Varghese, Alan	1110137072	1132	
41		Varghese, Steven	1150142523	821	
42		Zulu, Thandanani	1980136230	1339	
43	1 Alexandre	Zuma, Mbusiswa	180043604	1386	RS
44	C Att	SITHOLE MBONGENI			
45	Abula	NADEAN GRADUSINGH			
46		6			
47					
48					
49	A				
50					-